About The Beal House Inn
A traditional New England Inn
in historic Littleton, NH.
Located in a lovingly restored Georgian Colonial, the Beal House is a traditional New England Inn. Built in 1833, overlooking the Ammonoosuc River Valley in quaint Littleton New Hampshire, the Beal House offers a true New England Inn experience, just two and a half hours north of Boston. Relax in your suite in front of your in room fireplace, soak in the warm waters of the two person jet tub. Snuggle up and sleep in, luxuriating in the four poster bed under sumptuous linens.
Built in 1833, the Inn is a textbook example of Georgian Architectrure. Four rooms up, four rooms down. Double hung, six over six, windows. Center entrance with neo-classical details. Twin chimneys, symetry throughout.
There are now seven guest rooms, four suites and three standards. Two of the suites have in room jet tubs. Three of them have in room fireplaces.
The Inn also features a Barn (now Dining Room) and Carriage House (Kitchen and Dining Room). Housing our award winning restaurant, a local favorite, winning rave reviews from locals and travelers alike.
Built in 1833, the Beal House stands on a rise overlooking a fertile river valley. The original builders successfully farmed the valley and raised generations of family in the clasic Georgian home. For more than a century, the Beal House marked the edge of town, as the last house on Main Street, number 247. Modern life intruded in the 1980s when the powers that be implmented the E911 system, changing the address to 2 West Main St. The numbers 247 are still attached to one of the Inn's front doors, and the old Town Line sign hangs in the lobby, a hat tip to times past.
Widowed in the middle of the Depression, Mrs. Beal opened her home to travellers and lodgers as a Rooming House in 1933. She also ran a successful antiques business out of the attached barn and carriage house (now dining rooms). Many of her customers travelled from all over the country and stayed at the Inn while they conducted business with her. In time she remarried, but continued to run the business under the name Beal. Her almost 50 tenure placed her indelible stamp on the Beal House, and we wouldn't have it any other way. She retired to Florida in 1980.
Mrs. Beal sold the Inn to the Clickenger Family. They were the first to operate the Inn as a B&B while also maintaining the antiques business. They raised their two girls here before selling to move on to the next phase of their lives.
The 90s were a tough time for the Beal house as a succession of owners came and went, most lasting less than two years. In 2000 the Inn was purchased by Katherine and Jose Pawlek, who enjoyed great success and made the Beal House a destination for Fine Dining. The Pawleks moved on in 2006 and once again a succesion of owners came and went. Most lacked hospitality experience and simply did not understand how much work and time the Beal House would demand of them.